Dove STYLE+care Invigorating Dry Shampoo

Smells great, works perfectly:

Dove Dry Shampoo

I grew up in my mom’s salon and anything other than sparkling clean hair and scalp was unacceptable when styling hair, so the idea of a dry shampoo has always seemed icky to me…until.. I realized that about the time the ends of my hair get calm and the rest of my hair is just as I’d like it, my hair near the roots is too oily to go on.  I’ve sometimes used a bit of cornstarch dusted on my roots with a large powder brush to absorb the oil.  My hair is blonde and this works fairly well, but my daughter’s hair is very dark brown, so she can’t dust on white corn starch.

Why Dove? I’m working on sticking to my budget, so I want something I can pick up when I’m out doing my regular shopping and errands.  One thing that breaks my budget is to make a special trip to a specialty beauty store like Ulta or Sally’s because I have a very hard time walking out without spending way too much.

One caveat about delaying your shampoo with a dry shampoo product or cornstarch: if you’re prone to allergies, you may not realize that many allergens can cling to your hair and continue to have a negative effect on you until you shampoo.  I notice that sometimes when I go on a walk here in the city and it’s high pollen outside and dusty and dry, I suffer more if I don’t shampoo out my hair.  If I can feel dust on my face, I know it’s in my hair as well.  I’m also chemically sensitive, so if I have really gone overboard with the hairspray and product, I can suffer with my allergies if I don’t shampoo it all out.

UPDATE:

I also tried Beyond the Zone Rock On Dry Shampoo.   Works great, a bit of a funky smell, though.

Beyond The Zone Rock On

Leave a comment